My Very First Liebster Award!

I am beyond thrilled to report that I have just received my first nomination for a Liebster Award!  This honor was bestowed on me by none other than Ms. Coolsville herself!  If you haven’t already checked out her blog you totally should…and here is the link so you no longer have any excuse not to!


The Rules:
1. Thank the blog who nominated you and link back to them.
2. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers to receive the coveted award.
3. Answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
4. Tell your readers 11 random facts about yourself.
5. Give the nominees 11 questions to answer on their blog when they post their nomination.

Here are the questions asked by Ms. Coolsville:

1. What advice can you give to a blogger just starting out?

Gosh, I still feel like I am just starting out but here goes!  I would say start making friends with other bloggers because not only are they your best resource but they are also your biggest support!  Also, take part in as many blogathons as you can because not only do they help you get more exposure, they also help you develop and refine your writing.  Finally, watch movies and write about them!  Even if you hated the movie or if no one has ever heard of it before, write a post about it!  It is great practice and also promotes your blog!

2. Imagine eating the perfect meal. What’s on the menu?

Peking Duck with the pancakes and plum sauce, sushi and sashimi, hot and crusty bread with butter, a bowl of my Mom’s potato salad, and brownies with chocolate chips and raisins in them!

3. What’s your favorite album of all time?

Wow…this is tough but I think I would go with ECLIPSE by Imogen Heap.  This is the first adult album I went to hear in concert and I just love all the songs.

4. If you could nominate one book as required reading for high school students, which one would it be?

I think I would pick a book called SOPHIE’S WORLD.  It is a fictional book that actually teaches about philosophy and the history of the philosophers.  At a time when you are trying to figure out who you are and what your world view is, I think it is important to have a basis to draw from and philosophy is such an under-taught subject.

5. What’s your favorite black and white film?

Argh!  This is a tough one.  Growing up I loved THE PHILADELPHIA STORY and I still do.  But as I got older I think my favorite movie has become NOW, VOYAGER.  I saw it at a time when I felt very much like the pre-makeover Bette Davis and it just was the first film that I saw that gave me such a strong emotional reaction.  I had never resonated so closely with a film before and it has always stuck with me.

6. Name three things that bring you joy.

My family, traveling to new places, exploring used bookstores.

7. Coffee, tea, or juice?

Tea, all the way.

8. What is your astrological sign?

Cancer

9. What’s your favorite element on the periodic table?

Manganese

10. If you could be fluent in another language, which one would you choose?

Cantonese.  It is my husband’s first language and spoken by his family, including his mom who isn’t totally comfortable with English.  I want to learn it not only for myself but also to teach to our son.

11. If you were given a yacht, what would you name it?

The Vagabond of Destiny


Now here are 11 Random Facts About ME!

1.) I was homeschooled from fifth grade until I went to college

2.) I have moved four times in the last three years, but hopefully this time was the last!

3.) I don’t buy clothes or shoes, I buy books and old movies

4.) I worked as an ICU nurse until last year when my son was born

5.) I started this blog while I was home alone with the baby because I wanted to have something to do when he was napping as well as something to share with him when he is older…

6.) …But it was something I had always thought of doing and I had even started a blog years earlier but it didn’t last

7.) I think that the book of GONE WITH THE WIND is better than the movie

8.) I hate fingernail clippings, even my own

9.) My favorite candy is the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup

10.) I am a fantasy geek…I played World of Warcraft and read all the books (so far)  in the SONG OF ICE AND FIRE series 

11.) I have never eaten at a Taco Bell or a Denny’s 


Now it is my turn to nominate some fabulous fellow bloggers!

1.) Movies Silently

2.) Speakeasy

3.) Pre-Code.com

4.) Let’s Misbehave

5.) Silver Screenings

6.) Noir Girl

7.) Shadows and Satin

8.) Journeys in Darkness and Light

9.) Margaret Perry

10.)  Comet Over Hollywood

11.) The Hollywood Revue


My Questions for the Nominees

1.) What is your favorite “bad” movie?

2.) What inspired you to start blogging?

3.) What person alive or dead would you choose to go to lunch with?

4.) Who is your favorite classic film star?

5.) Describe your perfect day.

6.) What is the funniest joke you know?

7.) What is your favorite book of all time?

8.) Where is the best place you have ever visited?

9.) What advice would you give the fellow bloggers?

10.) Why do you love classic films?

11.) What is your favorite color?

11 thoughts on “My Very First Liebster Award!

  1. Coolsville April 16, 2015 / 2:33 pm

    Yay! Thanks for continuing the award festivities, and congrats. So you’re an Imogen Heap fan! I love her voice and I especially like her work as 1/2 of the duo Frou Frou. I’m still planning to watch Now Voyager sometime this year; I can’t wait! And if you ever get around to visiting a Taco Bell, I highly recommend the chicken quesadilla. It’s the only item I ever order.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging April 16, 2015 / 5:14 pm

      Haha I’ll have to keep that in mind! I love Imogen Heap and her work in Frou Frou too!

      Like

  2. Silver Screenings April 16, 2015 / 4:20 pm

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I will have to give some thought to your thought-provoking questions.

    I need to know: Why is manganese your favourite element?

    For what it’s worth, my sister loves “Sophie’s World”. She read that book when she graduated high school and would talk about it endlessly.

    Thanks for sharing this info about yourself. I feel like I know you better as a person. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging April 16, 2015 / 5:16 pm

      Manganese was the one that popped into my head…I think that there is a BIG BANG THEORY that talks about Manganese and I love Sheldon Cooper!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Vanessa B (@callmeveebee) April 16, 2015 / 10:01 pm

    Woot woot! Congratulations on your nomination! I loved reading your answers – I noticed that a lot of your answers were ones that I would have picked as well (i.e. I freaking LOVE tea and Reese Peanut Butter Cups!).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kristina June 13, 2015 / 7:00 pm

    Congrats on your first award! there will be more I have no doubt. I’m a little ashamed for leaving this so long but I am very grateful and flattered you thought to include me so before letting any more time go by, I’ll do this here and answer your fun questions:

    1.) What is your favorite “bad” movie? Well some people X-Men movies are bad and I love them, but my big guilty pleasure is the Liam Neeson, Melanie Griffith movie SHINING THROUGH.

    2.) What inspired you to start blogging? Started to keep up my writing skills but now just to share what I watch and the fun of discovering/loving movies. And I use the blog to educate myself about movies and writing every day.

    3.) What person alive or dead would you choose to go to lunch with? Myself at age 15, ha! I’d have a lot to tell her.

    4.) Who is your favorite classic film star? This is HARD! For men it’s a close one between Errol Flynn, Tyrone Power and Robert Taylor. For women, Irene Dunne, Loretta Young, so many more….

    5.) Describe your perfect day. Cooking, a movie or two, being positive and making someone else’s day brighter.

    6.) What is the funniest joke you know? I know a great one about Saskatchewan but it’s only funny in Croatian!

    7.) What is your favorite book of all time? tough call, I think 1984 taught me the most but I love Hemingway’s style.

    8.) Where is the best place you have ever visited? tcm film festival, I have to say!

    9.) What advice would you give the fellow bloggers? Have fun, and never be afraid to have your own opinion about movies, the world would be boring if we all liked the same things!

    10.) Why do you love classic films? They can be stunning art, mindless fun, educational about human nature and any number of other subjects and history. and you will never run out of new directions to explore.

    11.) What is your favorite color? black, as in Johnny Cash 🙂

    all the very best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

