Spending My Birthday With Katharine, Cary, Jimmy, and My Mom

Today is my birthday!  It is also Susan Hayward’s, Glenda Farrell’s, and Marya’s from Cinema Fanatic…as well as the day that RED HEADED WOMAN was released.  But yes, it is my birthday!

Imagine my excitement when I realized that TCM was showing my favorite movie, THE PHILADELPHIA STORY, at 1PM on my birthday!  Imagine my dismay when I realized by addled brain had misread the guide and it was actually playing at 1AM on my birthday.  Never fear, Mom to the rescue!

To celebrate my Mom came over to my house with sandwiches and all kinds of junk food and treats that we never eat and we watched THE PHILADELPHIA STORY.  At first it was just the two of us and later it was the two of us and my son, who was resisting his nap and ending up sleeping next to us after watching some Cary Grant.  We spent the time chatting, discussing trivia, and deciding who would be a modern day cast if they ever remade the film today.  We decided on Leonardo DiCaprio for CK Dexter Haven, Lee Pace for Mike Conner, Jennifer Lawrence for Liz Imbry, Bradley Cooper for George Kittridge, and either Jessica Chastain or Amy Adams for Tracy Lord.  And Bill Murray for Uncle Willy.  But we both agreed that you really shouldn’t mess with perfection that is Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart, and Katharine Hepburn.

Our snacks…

My Mom doing her best Greta Garbo…

My feet (My feet are made of clay, made of clay did you know?)

All in all a delightful afternoon and way to spend my birthday!  Thanks Mom!

20 thoughts on “Spending My Birthday With Katharine, Cary, Jimmy, and My Mom

  1. Coolsville June 30, 2015 / 8:47 pm

    Happy birthday!!!! A classic movie and delicious junk food is a great way to celebrate! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging June 30, 2015 / 8:50 pm

      Thank you! Yes I ate way too much and enjoyed every second of it!

      Like

  2. lizzytish June 30, 2015 / 9:40 pm

    I was there for your very first birthday (and hope to celebrate with you for many more!)
    Too bad your sister was not well….what’s the movie next year? Or shall we watch The Philadelphia Story every year?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

