2015 Summer Reading Classic Film Challenge: EVERY FRENCHMAN HAS ONE

This post is part of the 2015 Summer Reading Classic Film Challenge hosted by Raquel of Out Of The Past. Find out more about this event here and stayed tuned all summer for more reviews!

For my sixth book in the 2015 Summer Reading Classic Film Challenge I wanted to read something a little special.  This book would fall into that category.  First of all, I love Olivia de Havilland.  I have a special feeling for her because she was the first class film actress I can remember watching and enjoying, THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD anyone, and she also was the first classic film star I ever got an autograph from.  She actually sent me a lovely note along with an autographed photo of her and Errol Flynn during the shooting of THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD, which I have framed and hung on my wall.  I decided to splurge on a pre-birthday present to myself, as copies of this book start around $45 on Amazon, and get a book written by Olivia de Havilland herself.  And I have to say that the result is fabulous.

Actually, the word I would use to describe this book would be delightful.  After the end of her first marriage, Olivia de Havilland traveled to France for the Cannes Film Festival and it was here that she met her soon to be second husband.  After her divorce was finalized and her second marriage legalized, Olivia de Havilland crossed the ocean and settled into life in France.  And that is what this book is about!

A collection of anecdotes and stories about her life and adjustment to life with the French people and the city of Paris this book is not for those seeking a autobiography.  However, if you enjoy the stories of Robert Benchley or the humor of The Night The Bed Fell by James Thurber, you will enjoy this book.  Guys, Olivia de Havilland is funny!  And witty!  And this book shows all of that.  I read the first 115 pages in one night and finished the book the next day.  The writing is quick and clever, and full of amusing tales of her time in France.  She writes about her trials in French fashion, finding and hiring a French maid, and remodeling her new home.

I really enjoyed this book and I would certainly recommend it to any classic film fan!  Thank you to Ms. de Havilland for this wonderful book!


Here is another great post about this book written by Lara of Backlots.  Also, big thanks to Raquel for hosting this challenge!

6 thoughts on “2015 Summer Reading Classic Film Challenge: EVERY FRENCHMAN HAS ONE

  1. Shannon July 21, 2015 / 8:01 pm

    How interesting! I can’t wait to find a copy and dive in!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michaela July 21, 2015 / 8:12 pm

    I’m all sorts of jealous right now. I have autographed photos from Dick Van Dyke and Leslie Caron, but a picture of the gorgeous Mr. Flynn from de Havilland would do me in. Her book sounds fantastic, too! I’m a huge Francophile, so this is perfect for me. Adding it to my Amazon wishlist right away!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Raquel September 10, 2015 / 8:13 pm

    I need to read this! De Havilland is so charming and I can see that comes through in her book just from your review.

    Great job on the challenge BTW!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging September 10, 2015 / 9:12 pm

      Thank you! I hope you get to read it, it is utterly charming!

      Like

Leave a Reply

