Classic Film Book Haul from Book Outlet

Since no one opposed the idea of seeing more book hauls here we go with another one!  Thanks to Raquel from Out of the Past and Vanessa from Stardust, I have recently discovered Book Outlet.  It has a ton of books for really low prices and they have quite a few classic film books!  This is my Book Outlet haul, which is actually about three hauls over two months condensed into one.  All told, with shipping, these books only cost me about $50!  Without further ado, here is my book haul…

IMG_1564

What I Got

A Life of Barbara Stanwyck; Steel True 1907-1940 by Victoria Wilson

Five Came Back; A Story of Hollywood and the Second World War by Mark Harris

Hope by Richard Zoglin

Spencer Tracy; A Biography by James Curtis

Beautiful; The Life of Hedy Lamarr by Stephen Michael Shearer

The Searchers; The Making of an American Legend by Glenn Frankel

Empire of Dreams; The Epic Life of Cecil B. DeMille by Scott Eyman

The Accidental Feminist; How Elizabeth Taylor Raised Our Consciousness and We Were Too Distracted by Her Beauty to Notice by M. G. Lord (This one was a total cover buy just from the title)

‘Tis Herself by Maureen O’Hara (Just finished reading and reviewing this)

The Entertainer; Movies, Magic and My Father’s Twentieth Century by Margaret Tablot

Have you ever read any of these books?  What did you think?  Let me know in the comments!  And stay tuned because my Dad and I are going to a used bookstore tomorrow so there might just be a haul coming from that!

7 thoughts on “Classic Film Book Haul from Book Outlet

  1. mercurie80 August 7, 2015 / 7:05 pm

    I have a copy of Hope by Richard Zoglin, but I haven’t started reading it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

      • mercurie80 August 7, 2015 / 7:23 pm

        I have too! I’m just waiting for some quiet time to be able to read it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Vanessa B (@callmeveebee) August 7, 2015 / 10:29 pm

    I have quite a few of those books, but I’ve only actually read three of them so far: the Barbara Stanwyck, Spencer Tracy and Maureen O’Hara bios and they were all pretty fabulous. The weakest out of the three would be O’Hara’s memoir.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging August 7, 2015 / 10:50 pm

      I enjoyed ‘Tis Herself so I am pretty sure I will love the rest! 🙂

      Like

  3. Silver Screenings August 11, 2015 / 8:53 pm

    OOh – I also have “Five Came Back” and “The Entertainer” but have not read them yet. We’ll have to compare notes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

