Random Harvest of Thoughts: ONE YEAR OF BLOGGING AND SOME COMING CHANGES

Recently Fritzi over at Movies Silently published a post about growing the brand of your particular blog.  This got me thinking…

Last week sometime, I missed the actual date because WordPress didn’t remind me and I have toddler brain (it’s a thing), I reached one year of blogging.  This is shocking to me because when I started this blog a year ago I had no idea what it would become or the people that I would meet because of it.  I have truly enjoyed every moment of blogging this last year and I want to thank every person who came to read a post, everyone who left a comment, and every blogger who welcomed me into their community.

Back to Fritzi…moving forward I want to try to focus in on what my aim is with this blog.  I started this blog because I have loved classic film for as long as I can remember and I wanted to find a way to share that love. I also knew that when it came to the classic films that I love, I didn’t know half of what I wanted to about their history and the men and women who made them.

So what are we doing here?  I am not a classic film expert by any means. But I am trying to expand my horizons and increase my knowledge every day. That means I watch a lot of movies, read a ton of books, and listen to hours of podcasts all in an effort to learn about and enjoy classic films.

Moving forward I will of course be continuing with posts about films, podcasts, and books.  I will also still be putting up book and DVD hauls as I get them.  I will of course be continuing to participate in blogathons!  One thing that I think will be going by the wayside is the monthly TCM guide.  In its place I am going to try putting up monthly wrap-ups with my thoughts on what I have learned and discovered in the previous thirty days.

I am not a scholar, I am a classic film fan just like you and this is my journey of discovery. Care to join me?

16 thoughts on “Random Harvest of Thoughts: ONE YEAR OF BLOGGING AND SOME COMING CHANGES

  1. aaronwest October 28, 2015 / 2:31 am

    That’s an excellent direction, Liz. I think you’re more of a classic film expert than you give yourself credit, but we can all keep learning. To me learning is half of the fun. I’ll keep following as you “Voyage” ahead with your brand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realthog October 28, 2015 / 3:57 am

    (a) Congrats on your first year of this great blog! May there be many more of them.

    (b) Golly! I thought you’d been at this wordpressing game far longer than I have. Clearly you’re a natural.

    Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristina October 28, 2015 / 12:17 pm

    First congrats on your year, here’s to many more! I’m glad to have gotten to know you 🙂 It’s good to change things up, keeps things fun and keeps you glued to your blog and learning more about movies. Best!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beth Ann Gallagher October 28, 2015 / 2:03 pm

    Congratulations on your first year! Writing is a form of thinking, and blogging about classic film is definitely a way of learning more about it while exploring the passion for it. In a lot of ways, blogging is like taking a self-directed film class. We’re all learners, and you shouldn’t feel intimidated by others in the blogosphere. The best film bloggers are those excited to connect and dish film!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. shadowsandsatin October 28, 2015 / 2:20 pm

    Happy blogiversary, Liz! I look forward to joining you on your redirected journey! I’m glad to know you! (Did I put enough exclamation points in that?)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. FilmMad (@FilmMad) October 28, 2015 / 3:15 pm

    Congratulations on a fine year of blogging. Have enjoyed so many of your posts in the last few months. As someone with a bookish streak I enjoy the book hauls and am always looking for additions. Personally if it goes I won’t miss the monthly TCM guide, as a reader from the UK such posts are a little frustrating, a round up of films on TV in a differrent country just shows me what I am missing out on. I do feel one or two classic film blogs are a little too TCM centric, those who don’t have it can feel a little sidelined, just an observation. Again congratulations on your first year and I look forward to more fine posts.

    Liked by 2 people

    • nowvoyaging October 28, 2015 / 3:53 pm

      Thank you! That’s a great point that many people don’t have access to TCM! Thank you for reading! 🙂

      Like

  7. popegrutch October 28, 2015 / 3:24 pm

    Yay! I was a little afraid you’d be giving us bad news when I first read it. Every once in a while a really good movie blogger is overcome with “I’m-not-worthy” anxiety, and we lose them. You totally are worthy.
    I started my project specifically because early film was an area I don’t know that much about. If I was just here to show off, I could write about 1980s horror or 1950s sci fi, but I wanted blogging to be a learning process. As a result, I’ve made mistakes, but I always learn from them. Don’t be afraid of your mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Vanessa B (@callmeveebee) October 28, 2015 / 5:17 pm

    I cannot believe it’s already been a year since you started blogging! Man, I remember the first time you emailed me, wondering if it’d be a good idea for you to start your own classic film blog. I remember it like it was yesterday and I’m so thrilled that you took my advice and went ahead with your idea 😀 I love your blog, I love your writing style, and I admire your drive (so many blogathons! haha). All the best, Liz x

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging October 28, 2015 / 6:23 pm

      Haha thank you! And thank you for your advice all those months ago!

      Like

Leave a Reply

