A November Wrap-Up

So November was a bit of a crazy month!  The holidays definitely cut down on my movie watching but I still managed to see a few films and take part in some excellent blogathons!

hitchcockturk1

Blogathons: I took part in three blogathons this month which were The Swashathon, The What A Character! Blogathon, and The Criterion Blogathon!  These were all such great events from some fabulous people and I really enjoyed getting to see some new films and talk about them with other fans!  Also, in case you missed it I am helping Cinema Dilettante host her very first blogathon!  Come January we are celebrating the lovely Loretta Young so if you are of the notion please join us!

Thelma Todd: My big discovery this month came thanks to a book called THE ICE CREAM BLONDE.  I had never heard of the life of Thelma Todd and was only minimally acquainted with her work.  Thanks to the excellent biography by Michelle Morgan, I came away with a much greater appreciation for this sadly forgotten actress.  THE ICE CREAM BLONDE piqued my interest and is in my top three biographies of the year!  Highly recommended!

51nz2oofhgl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Other Items of Interest: I did manage to add to my classic film library thanks to another library book sale!  I had to put the Gloria Swanson autobiography on hold but hopefully I will get back to it soon!

Classic Film Blogger Shout-Out: I am going to try to make this a monthly thing and give at least one fellow film blogger a shout-out just because I think they are awesome!  This month I am going to recommend that you check out Kristina of Speakeasy because she is one of the bloggers that inspired me to start my own site!  She is truly one of the nicest, most knowledgeable, and all round best people on the blogging scene today, and I am truly in awe of her prolific postings!

Dem-3 Photo. Helene Jeanbrau © 1996 cine-tamaris.tif

Favorite Film Discovery of the Month: RIDE THE PINK HORSE.  This one hands down was the best thing I saw all month.  Thanks to the Criterion Blogathon I finally got an excuse to watch and write about this terrific, if slightly odd, film noir from Robert Montgomery.  Just a great film that has stuck with me all November long.

7 thoughts on “A November Wrap-Up

  1. Kristina Dijan November 30, 2015 / 8:47 pm

    Wow such kind words, thank you so much for the wonderful shout-out! And likewise, it is so fun getting to know you and talking blog things and more! I like this idea of taking stock of the month, you did a lot of neat things and I suggest you link back to the original posts in here, for people who find this one first! Best and thanks again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Veebs (@callmeveebee) December 1, 2015 / 10:38 pm

    It’s funny that you should mention RIDE THE PINK HORSE because I saw the bluray at the library a couple days ago but didn’t pick it up! I’m gonna have to go back and get it since you recommended it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging December 1, 2015 / 11:47 pm

      Do! And then let me know what you thought! It is a little odd but Robert Montgomery is terrific!

      Like

  3. Silver Screenings December 4, 2015 / 8:11 pm

    Sounds like November was a VERY busy month.

    The Loretta Young blogathon looks great. Sadly, I don’t think I can participate. 😦 It’s great that you’re helping a fellow blogger with their first blogathon, though. It’s always easier when there’s an experienced blogger to lead the way the first time around.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging December 4, 2015 / 8:21 pm

      😊 Sorry you can’t join! I have not forgotten about your Blogathon!

      Like

      • Silver Screenings December 4, 2015 / 8:23 pm

        Oh, no worries. Our blogathon is a lo-o-ong ways off. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

