A Christmas Miracle! Seeing MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET

Earlier this week I was extremely surprised and thrilled to learn that I had won a pair of tickets to see MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET in the theater!  This Christmas miracle came to me courtesy of Annemarie of Classic Movie Hub, a highly awesome site which you should check out, who held the contest and TCM/Fathom Events who is hosting the event at several screenings this week all over the country.  I was very excited for two reasons.  One, going to see a movie in the theater because when is that not exciting?  And two, my husband was going to join me and he had never seen MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET before!

600full-miracle-on-34th-street-screenshot

So the day dawned and grandparents arrived to babysit, my husband and I drove to the theater and made our way past everyone going to see Star Wars to find our seats.  I had expected our theater to be pretty empty, as I figured pretty much everyone else would be going to see Star Wars instead.  I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in behind two young men in their twenties to find that we would be seeing this film with about twenty other patrons.  The movie goers ranged in age from grandparents, to parents, to teens/young adults, all the way to one little girl who was so young her Mom had to read the on-screen letter to her.

I’ll be honest, I get a little nervous when I go to see a classic film in the theater.  When I see other people coming in I wonder if they are going to enjoy and appreciate the film they are going to see or if they will make fun of it or find it boring.  I needn’t have worried.  As soon as the lights went down and Robert Osborne appeared, everyone stopped talking.  In fact no one talked during the movie at all, even the little girl stayed in her seat only whispering to her mother on occasion.  I love classic films and I know that they are not always the popular choice when it comes to the masses.  But it was such a wonderful experience, sitting in a theater with a group of people and hearing everyone laugh aloud at the same jokes.  When Maureen O’Hara and John Payne kissed the whole theater went “Awww”.  And went it was all over and the words “The End” came on screen the whole audience broke into spontaneous and vigorous applause.

20121121_still-from-miracle-on-34th-street_33

This was a terrific experience and one that I won’t soon forget.  It was a great way to kick off Christmas week and I left the theater with a big smile.  And my husband?  He rated it 5 out of 5.


Thanks again to Annemarie for holding the contest!  And thanks to TCM and Fathom Events for having such a great Christmas screening!

3 thoughts on “A Christmas Miracle! Seeing MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET

  1. Silver Screenings December 21, 2015 / 11:11 pm

    Yay! This is a fab movie to see on the big screen, as you know. It’s great on TV, but it’s fantastic in a theatre.

    I know EXACTLY what you mean when I go to a theatre and worry about others in the audience not enjoying the classic film. But I don’t think I’ve ever seen an audience that didn’t love – and I mean LOVE – the film.

    So glad you and your husband had the chance to see this on the big screen. What a treat!

    Oh – and Happy Holidays to you and your family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

