December 2015: A Wrap-Up

This month was busy for me, especially with the holidays, so I didn’t get to as many movies as I wanted but that doesn’t mean that I didn’t watch some great things in the month of December!

86d8a66044f04f3db34760c0c15a675b

Blogathons: This month I took part in the Try It You’ll Like It Blogathon hosted by Sister Celluloid and Movies Silently.  This was a great event that had bloggers write about what films they thought were the perfect gateway for non-classic film lovers.  I chose THE PALM BEACH STORY, a movie that I showed to my husband and one that he actually laughed out loud during!

agent-carter

Agent Carter: OK, I realize that this is not a classic film per se.  However, this month I watched Season One of Agent Carter (Season 2 starts on January 19th at 9PM EST on ABC) and I absolutely loved it!  Not only is it a fantastically written and acted show, but Peggy Carter is such a rich and vibrant character that I found myself wishing there were more movies, television shows, books, pretty much anything about her because I just loved the character so much!  You don’t need to be a fan of Captain America or comics to enjoy this show, though of course there are references and in-jokes for those who are, just a fan of 1940s style action and adventure as well as one incredibly smart and courageous woman.  Agent Carter not only deals with the effects of World War II, the return of men to the workforce,  and the struggle of women for equality in said workforce, but it also name drops classic film stars like nobody’s business!    This is a show that deserves a wider audience and I think that the classic film community is just the group of people to do it!

Fathom Events: This month I was lucky enough to win tickets from Classic Movie Hub to the Fathom Event Screening of Miracle On 34th Street.  My husband and I had an afternoon date to the theater and, along with about twenty other people, had a wonderful time watching a Christmas classic!

layout-6

Twelve Classics for 2016: I did not manage to complete my list from last year but that hasn’t stopped me from joining The Blindspot Series for 2016!  This time I decided to pick some truly classic classics that I have not seen yet.  You can check out my list here and please, don’t judge me too harshly!

Classic Film Blogger Shout-Out: This month I want to spotlight Aaron of Criterion Blues.  Aaron is a terrific blogger who writes about all things Criterion!  He also co-hosts a terrific Criterion themed podcast!  And in case you missed it, he was part of the triumvirate that hosted the hugely successful Criterion Blogathon last month.  Be sure to go over to Criterion Blues and check him out!

carol2bfor2banother2bchristmas2b1

Favorite Film Discovery of the Month: A CAROL FOR ANOTHER CHRISTMAS.  This was a new Christmas movie for me but it was a major revelation when I saw it.  Seemingly even more timely today than when it was first broadcast, A CAROL FOR ANOTHER CHRISTMAS was rescued from obscurity by TCM and hopefully will begin to find a wider audience.  It certainly deserves one.


In case you are curious, you can find my other monthly wrap-ups here!

 

6 thoughts on “December 2015: A Wrap-Up

    • nowvoyaging January 1, 2016 / 6:16 pm

      I got the first season off Amazon and I don’t regret blind buying it! As far as I can tell it isn’t available on any streaming services? Maybe Hulu?

      Like

      • Kristina Dijan January 1, 2016 / 6:22 pm

        No Hulu or Amazon streaming up here BUT I’m pretty sure the whole series is avail here on demand. The cable co. I use in Canada has a netflix type setup with tons of series and actually even netflix itself is a “channel” which is handy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • nowvoyaging January 1, 2016 / 6:38 pm

        Oh I just caved and bought the DVD! Lucky you that it is on demand! It is so good! I’d love to know what you think when you see it! Season 1 is only eight episodes.

        Like

  1. Laura January 3, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    Yay, another AGENT CARTER fan! I recorded it last year as a favor for a friend in the UK and then was so intrigued by the time period I decided to watch it myself. Can hardly wait for Season 2, and meantime I’ve been “power watching” AGENTS OF SHIELD. Peggy was a great “gateway” into Marvel, I’ve got the bug bad now. 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging January 4, 2016 / 12:37 am

      Agent Carter Rocks! I can’t wait for season 2 either!

      Like

Leave a Reply

