February 2016: A WRAP-UP AND WHY THINGS ARE QUIET

Hard to believe that another month has gone by!  But here we are once again for the monthly wrap-up!

Book Banner

Beyond The Cover Blogathon: The big news around the blog is obviously the Beyond The Cover Blogathon which is being hosted by Kristina of Speakeasy and me!  You can find the announcement post here, along with a handy dandy form made by Kristina so you can sign up to join in the fun in case you haven’t already!  We are really excited for this event as we are not only getting interest from classic film bloggers but from book tubers/book bloggers as well!  Stay tuned in April when you will get to see all the literary adaptation goodness!

hqdefault1

Films I Watched and Favorite Film Discovery of the Month: I finally got to watch the Criterion Edition of THE BROWNING VERSION and I was quite surprised at what a moving and intelligent film it was.  One of the great things about the Criterion Collection is that you can find films that you might never have heard of before, but ones that are great pieces of art and filmmaking.  My favorite film I saw this month was definitely THE BARRETTS OF WIMPOLE STREET.  This was a film that started out as one thing and became something I totally did not expect!

Why Things Are Quiet: So, as you probably noticed things have been a little quieter around the blog lately.  The reason is two fold.  One, things personally have been a bit busier for me.  Family responsibilities along with a shortened nap time (which was when I used to watch most of my classic movies) lead into sort of a film watching slump for me.  To be honest, I had periods where I didn’t feel like watching anything and so I decided not to force myself because I want classic films and this blog to be something fun that I enjoy, not a chore.  Second, my film watching slump lead me back to my other favorite hobby which is reading.  All my life there are really two things that I like to do for fun…watching classic films and reading…and playing The Sims, but that is another story.  Anyway, instead of watching movies I have been reading more and watching movies where and when I can.  Apologies for the lack of posts of late but I didn’t want you to think I had abandoned this blog.  Of course if you want to know about what I have been reading just let me know!

Classic Film Blogger Shout-Out: You have heard her name and you probably know her awesomeness…but this month I am spotlighting Fritzi of Movies Silently.  She is amazing and her vast amount of knowledge and enthusiasm for silent films make her blog a place you must visit and subscribe to.


 

You can catch up on all my other monthly wrap-ups here!

6 thoughts on “February 2016: A WRAP-UP AND WHY THINGS ARE QUIET

  1. aaronwest March 3, 2016 / 3:48 am

    Sometimes it is good to take a break and your passion will eventually re-energize you. Looking forward to Beyond the Cover.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging March 3, 2016 / 7:45 am

      Thank you! Yeah, this happens once in a while and I figure it is better to let it happen rather than try to force myself to watch movies. I’m excited! Thank you for joining up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristina March 3, 2016 / 2:11 pm

    Please do share what you read in a roundup post, even the briefest thoughts would be interesting to read. I hear you on the chore feeling, lately I’ve been watching more than I can, or even want to, post about (I’d rather be watching! ha). Really looking forward to our blogathon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging March 3, 2016 / 2:30 pm

      Me too! Glad to know I’m not alone…maybe I will post about my readings in my wrap ups! That’s a great idea! 🙂

      Like

  3. Silver Screenings March 6, 2016 / 4:31 pm

    So glad you mentioned “The Browning Version”. It’s a little-known film that deserves more attention & love. I wept unconsolably during this one. Such a good film.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

