March 2015 Highlights for Turner Classic Movies

As the 31 Days of Oscars draws to a close, Turner Classic Movies goes back to more regularly scheduled programming.  Here is what is coming up in March as well as some things I think you should check out!


The Star of the Month for March is the lovely Ann Sothern!  Possibly best known for the Maisie films, Ann Sothern will be highlighted every Wednesday night in March starting at 8PM EST.  Guest Programmer Robin Quivers will present her four movie choices on March 10th, ranging from A PLACE IN THE SUN to THE PHILADELPHIA STORY.  Fridays in March will showcase Roadshow Musicals and March 15th will bring out Treasures from the Disney Vault.  Director Bert I. Gordon will be highlighted on March 19th with seven of his films, including THE CYCLOPS from 1957.  March 24th will be all about Alan Arkin, showing four movies and one documentary of Alan Arkin’s interview from the Turner Classic Movies Film Festival.  I am really excited for March 26th when TCM features an evening of Hammer Noir.  A night of premieres from the Hammer Film Company in England, TCM will bring us THE GAMBLER AND THE LADY, PAID TO KILL, DEAD ON COURSE, and HEAT WAVE.


The Essentials will bring us ROMAN HOLIDAY, THE MORE THE MERRIER, NOW, VOYAGER, and THE PRISONER OF ZENDA.  TCM Underground is showing THE VISITOR, THE TOWN THAT DREADED SUNDOWN, CIAO! MANHATTAN, and BONE.  Silent Sunday Nights are back with FROM HAND TO MOUTH, HIGH AND DIZZY, GET OUT AND GET UNDER, I DO, THE HOODLUM, and THE PENALTY.  Finally, TCM Imports will feature DIARY OF A PREGNANT WOMAN, DU COTE DE LA COTE, LE BONHEUR, TORMENT, MISS JULIE, and TRISTANA.


Now, here are some films that I am planning to check out in March and I think you might enjoy them too! March 1st – GOLD DIGGERS OF 1933 6:30AM EST Part of my ten classic movies for 2015 list this is an essential pre-code that I definitely plan on checking out!, THE MUSIC MAN 2PM EST I am a sucker for a good musical and I have fond memories of watching this as a kid. March 3rd – NOW, VOYAGER 2:45 PM EST See title of this blog…need we say more? March 5th – A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH 12:15 PM EST A great movie about a pilot played by David Niven who argues with the angels for a chance to keep on living, ARROWSMITH 8PM EST Ronald Colman in a dramatic pre-code about a doctor finding his true calling in spite of personal tragedy, THE SIN OF MADELON CLAUDET 2 AM EST The story of a woman taking to the streets to provide for her illegitimate son is just too enticing of a pre-code to miss. March 7th – AN ACT OF MURDER 8AM EST Another film that intrigues me…Frederic March playing a judge who is considering mercy killing his brain cancer striken wife. March 8th – TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD 2PM EST Gregory Peck is Atticus Finch, THE GHOST AND MRS. MUIR I saw this movie years ago and it is a very lovely and haunting tale of a woman who falls in love with a ghostly sea-captain, TOPPER 10PM EST Another one from my ten classic film list and this one has Cary Grant and Constance Bennett in it! March 9th – LIFE BEGINS 6:45 AM EST A pre-code maternity ward with Loretta Young, MARY STEVENS, MD 8AM EST The great Kay Francis in a great pre-code melodrama, A CHILD IS BORN 9:15AM EST I saw the end of this movie some time ago and now I need to see how it starts! March 10th – BORN YESTERDAY 12:30AM EST Judy Holiday is fantastic as a dizzy girlfriend of a crooked business man who learns how to improve herself and William Holden, THE PHILADELPHIA STORY 2:30AM EST This is one of my all time favorite movies ever so I must watch. March 11th  – MAISIE 8PM EST The first of a night of Maisie films with Ann Sothern and since I have never seen any of them I might as well start here! March 13th – THE BOWERY BOYS MEET THE MONSTERS 3:30PM EST I have heard a lot about the Bowery Boys but have yet to see a film so I will be checking this one out. March 14th – THE BIG CLOCK 8:15 AM EST Ray Milland and Charles Laughton and someone is getting framed for murder. March 15th – DARBY O’GILL AND THE LITTLE PEOPLE 8PM EST I remember watching this with my sister as a kid and I can’t wait to see it again! March 18th – A KNIGHT WITHOUT ARMOUR 12PM EST A fantastic film with Robert Donat and Marlene Dietrich, very romantic and exciting movie about a British spy helping a Soviet countess escape communist Russia, THE CITADEL 2PM EST Robert Donat and Rosalind Russell in a  film about a doctor tempted to give up his ideals for money. March 19th – CHRISTOPHER STRONG 10AM EST Part of a morning dedicated to Katherine Hepburn this is a pre-code film I have been meaning to catch, a story about an aviatrix and her affair with a married man. March 20th – HIGHWAY 301 10AM EST Kristina at Speakeasy wrote a great review of this film and inspired me to want to see it, 42ND STREET 1;15PM I can’t believe that I have never seen this definitive backstage musical! March 21st – ENCHANTMENT 12AM EST I heard about this film starring David Niven and Teresa Wright on a Warner Archive Podcast and I was intrigued…looking forward to check it out. March 22nd – PRIMROSE PATH 6AM EST Ginger Rogers and Joel McCrea in a film about a girl from a family of prostitutes who tries to hide her past from her new husband. March 26th – THE CASE OF THE CURIOUS BRIDE, THE CASE OF THE LUCKY LEGS, THE CASE OF THE VELVET CLAWS, THE CASE OF THE BLACK CAT, THE CASE OF THE STUTTERING BISHOP 1PM EST to 6:30PM EST A full afternoon of Perry Mason movies, yes please! March 29th – I TAKE THIS WOMAN 6 AM EST Spencer Tracy and Hedy Lamarr in a story of a doctor’s marriage to a European refugee and the threat it places on his practice, HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE 2:15PM Another favorite movie that I remember watching with my sister. These are just a few of the terrific films coming in March to TCM!  Let me know what ones you are looking forward to!  Here are some suggestions for movies in March from Danny at Pre-Code.com, Kristina at Speakeasy, Laura and her musings, and Cliff from Immortal Ephemera.

6 thoughts on “March 2015 Highlights for Turner Classic Movies

  1. Silver Screenings February 28, 2015 / 12:44 am

    Looks like some great films in March. I’m also curious about “Enchantment” with David Niven & Teresa Wright. I’ve never even heard of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging February 28, 2015 / 12:46 am

      I heard about it on the podcast and was intrigued…I bought a copy too so if you miss it and still want to see it let me know! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristina February 28, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    Thanks for the mention! I hope you like Highway 301 as much as I did. Cool picks here, I am going to catch up on a lot of Ann Sothern’s non-Maisie movies (seen those), but I’ve never seen Darby O’Gill! Can’t miss that. Check out those Hammer noir if you haven’t seen them, they’re pretty fun. Best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging February 28, 2015 / 6:33 pm

      Thanks! Looking forward to all the noir! And Highway 301!

      Like

  3. Cliff Aliperti March 1, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    Thanks for the link, hope you enjoy PRIMROSE PATH, it’s a favorite! And, of course, all those Perry Masons.

    Like

    • nowvoyaging March 1, 2015 / 7:04 pm

      I am looking forward to both of those! Great write up as usual! I missed it last month! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

