Shhhh! A Month of Silent Film…Coming in October

Since starting this blog I have been exposed to so many fabulous classic film bloggers, amazing classic film podcasts, and a whole new world of films that I had never heard of or seen before.  This has sparked in me a desire to improve my film education, which lead to an increase in my film and book collections, and it has also lead me to decide to do a theme month this October.

If there is one area of classic film that I feel like I don’t have enough experience it would be silent films.  Growing up I watched the films of Buster Keaton and Charlie Chaplin but that was pretty much it.  After starting this blog I found amazing bloggers such as Fritzi of Movies Silently and Olive of Star Nitrate, who have such a passion for silent film that you can’t help but be sucked in.  After taking part in a few of Fritzi’s blogathons and writing about silent films my interest was piqued.  So, I have decided to make October my month of silent film!

As a challenge to myself, I am going to watch nothing in October except silent films.  I will be taking part in the CMBA blogathon so there will be that, I will be writing about THE LADY VANISHES, but otherwise it will be only Marion Davies, Milton Sills, and Pola Negri.  I hope you will join me!

13 thoughts on “Shhhh! A Month of Silent Film…Coming in October

  1. MIB September 15, 2015 / 12:10 pm

    I hope there will be some Lillian Gish films in your viewing list? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristina September 15, 2015 / 5:11 pm

    wow this is very cool, will be following to see what you like and don’t 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vanessa B (@callmeveebee) September 15, 2015 / 6:49 pm

    I think this is a fantastic idea because I feel as if there are not enough people out there watching silent movies (I used to be one of those people back in the day). I’m really eager to read about your upcoming experience with silents and I hope you have a wonderful time discovering new films you otherwise would never have seen if not for this idea!

    Oh, and make sure you slot in “Flesh And the Devil” because that movie fucking rocks! (just my humble opinion lol)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jeff Jersey September 15, 2015 / 8:30 pm

    Orphans of the Storm.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patricia Nolan-Hall September 15, 2015 / 9:08 pm

    Who needs actors yacking at you all the time?

    If you haven’t seen them yet, see if you can get a hold of two from Lewis Milestone – The Racket and Two Arabian Knights.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment