Announcing The William Wellman Blogathon

I recently read the fantastic biography of William Wellman and found myself so inspired by the life and films of this great American director that I decided to do something about it!  More to the point, I decided to host my very first blogathon!

Announcing The William Wellman Blogathon!

Love WINGS?  Does WESTWARD THE WOMEN get your heart beating?  Want to talk about THE OX-BOW INCIDENT?  Think that Gary Cooper owes quite a bit to William Wellman and want to share your thoughts?  Go for it!  You can write about anything and everything related to William Wellman, his life, his films, and his career.

Now for the nitty gritty!  This event will run from September 10-13, 2015.  I am not assigning days for posts so feel free to post any time during the event.  Duplicates are fine so pick any topic you like!  Also, this is my first time hosting a blogathon and I am going solo so please let me know if I have forgotten anything or if you have any questions.  When the event goes live please be sure so send me a link to your posting either through email, twitter, or posting a comment to the event post on this blog.  I want to make sure you get all the credit you deserve!

So now you are itching for the chance to join in the fun!  How do I sign up, you may be asking.  Why it is very simple!  Just leave me a comment below letting me know your topic of choice and a link to your blog.  You can also tweet at me or send me an email (nowvoyaging [AT] gmail [DOT] com) with the same information.  Once you have done that feel free to take one of the fabulous banners, that Fritzi of Movies Silently has so kindly designed for the event, and post it all over the blogosphere or at the very least your corner of it!  I am so excited to host my first blogathon and I hope you will join me!


Roster

Now VoyagingLady of Burlesque 

SpeakeasyYellow Sky

Movies SilentlyThe Boob

Silver ScreeningsThe Ox-Bow Incident

CineMavenSafe in Hell and Beggars For Life

Shadows and SatinLilly Turner

StardustWings

Old Hollywood FilmsThe Public Enemy

Sister CelluloidFrisco Jenny

Criterion BluesA Star Is Born (1937)

Once Upon A ScreenThe Purchase Price

Silents And TalkiesHeroes For Sale

The Stop ButtonMagic Town

A Shroud of ThoughtsBeau Geste

Twenty Four FramesThe Ox-Bow Incident

Immortal EphemeraWild Boys of the Road

Movie Movie Blog Blog Nothing Sacred

The Motion PicturesWilliam Wellman; The Stanwyck Collaborations

That Classic Movie LifeThe Call of the Wild

Critica Retro Nothing Sacred

Caftan WomanGoodbye, My Lady

Laura’s Misc MusingsWild Boys of the Road

Moon In GeminiWestward The Women

Second Sight CinemaSafe In Hell

Portraits By JenniThe Story Of GI Joe

Pre-Code.ComCollege Coach

Girls Do FilmOther Men’s Women

Vitaphone DreamerA Star Is Born (1937)

The Movie RatNight Nurse

Comet Over HollywoodBattleground

Movie ClassicsThunder Birds

In The Good Old Days Of Classic HollywoodThe Great Man’s Lady and It’s A Big Country

Wide Screen WorldSo Big

Pop Culture ReverieThe Happy Years

Mike’s Take On The MoviesIsland In The Sky

Back To Golden DaysThe Iron Curtain

Barry Bradford – The Story of GI Joe

Noir GirlLove Is A Racket

Serendipitous AnachronismsRoxie Hart

Phyllis Loves Classic MoviesBlood Alley

The Cinematic FrontierWings

Defiant Success – The Ox-Bow Incident

Nitrate DivaBeggars of Life

Louise Brooks Society – Beggars of Life

Wolffian Classic Movies DigestRoxie Hart

B Noir DetourLady of Burlesque

Mildred’s Fat BurgersTrack of the Cat

Cinema Dilettante – Midnight Mary

Losh-Man’s Hollywood ClassicsAcross The Wide Missouri

Spellbound By MoviesMaybe It’s Love

Grand Old MoviesThe Next Voice You Hear


Banners (Thanks Fritzi!)

william-wellman-blogathon-bill

william-wellman-blogathon-beau-geste

william-wellman-blogathon-ox-bow

william-wellman-blogathon-wings

113 thoughts on “Announcing The William Wellman Blogathon

  1. Les September 10, 2015 / 3:33 pm

    William Wellman, what a director, what a man, what a life.
    What else can you say?

    Liked by 1 person

    • nowvoyaging September 10, 2015 / 4:46 pm

      Agreed! Thanks for joining in the celebration of his life and works!

      Like

  2. Beth Daniels September 15, 2015 / 2:02 pm

    I am so sorry. I was out for the count with a fabulous fall cold. The movie wasn’t very good anyway, apart from the cinematography. I mean, who makes a 26-year-old Alfalfa play a 100-year-old Native American?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment